Is DealDash Really Fair and Honest?

Does DealDash work?DealDash claims to be fair and honest, and an alternative to all of those penny auctions sites that have become so popular in recent years. It even goes so far as to say that it is easy to win the auctions. But should you get involved with this site, or will you just end up losing money, and getting products that you don’t really want?

Since it claims to be a viable alternative to penny auctions, it’s important to explain what a penny auction site is. This is where you don’t actually place bids on an item like you would on eBay. You are able to place bids on an item but it costs you to bid. If you are the last bidder when the time runs out you get the item at whatever price it ends up at. That means that potentially you could get the item for a few cents if you only place bid at the right time.

The Claim
Here’s how DealDash claims it works: all of the auctions start off at zero dollars. Every time someone bids the price of the product goes up by one penny. It costs $.60 to place a bid, and every time someone bids the timer gets reset. If your bid is the one remaining when the timer goes out, you win the right to buy the product at the price it is currently at.

So the theory here is if you bid strategically, you could end up with a product for a drastically low price. The flipside is if you really want something you could end up racking up plenty of fees by bidding so much.

The Hype
Penny auctions thrive on hype. The thought of getting namebrand products, expensive electronics, and anything and everything you can think of for such low prices is enough to drive people into a frenzy of bidding.

The Cost
Signing up with DealDash is free, but in order to bid you will need to buy bids at $.60 each. After that it’s totally up to you how much you spend, because you choose how many times you bid on a certain product or how may different products you bid on.

The Commitment
You really have to resolve yourself to spending a lot of time on the site in order to learn how to bid properly and get good deals. Most people think that they can just get lucky by stumbling on the right product at the right time, and placing a bid and getting a product super cheap for just a 60 cent fee. However, there is a bit of savviness that is required in order to have a higher chance of getting the product you want without paying more for it then you should. The site even offers a page filled with tips and tactics that you can outmaneuver other bidders.

DealDash is kind of like gambling because nobody likes to talk about their losses, they only want to tell you about their wins. It might be exhilarating to get a product at a low price, but how many bids did it take to get the item, and does the overall transaction work out in your favor?


The big flaw to every single Penny auctions scheme is all the times you bid on items and don’t actually get the item. This represents flushing your money down the drain $.60 at a time. Essentially that is the main reason to avoid these sort of sites, because there is no joy in spending money and receiving nothing in return. The vast majority of people end up burning through their bids, not getting the product they wanted, or getting it at a price that makes it so they could have just bought it outright directly from the manufacturer.

Case Study
Let’s say you buy 100 bids for $60. You find some products that you’re interested in, and start bidding on them. You place five bids on five different products, and so you’ve already spent three dollars. Of course, someone comes behind you and also bids on the items, rendering your bid useless. So you give it some time and let some other bids roll in and then you think that you have a chance at getting them, so you place five more bids on the five products. You’re now down six dollars and you’re hoping that no one else places bids so that you can get the items that you want.

But that rarely happens, and someone will come by and place a bid, forcing you to make a decision whether to choose a new product, or keep an eye on the ones that you were originally interested in. It all boils down to just a big hassle, and stressing every time somebody bids on top of yours. The only saving grace for DealDash is they have a By It Now option which returns your bids to you if you use it, but then you’re not really using the auction feature you’re just using the site to shop from.

Final DealDash Review

Although DealDash emphatically states that they are honest and fair, it doesn’t take away from the fact that their business model relies on people bidding on products and not receiving products. We recommend against signing up and using penny auctions because frankly they just don’t make any sense. It’s almost like a carnival game at the amusement park. You know it’s probably rigged against you, but you just can’t help going for that big pink bunny rabbit. Save your money and just buy what you want at reasonable prices from online retailers. This way you’ll always get what you want and won’t waste any money doing so.

What do you think? Does DealDash work or not?

Related posts:

{ 19 comments… read them below or add one }

Kirio September 13, 2012 at 12:44 am

These penny auctions are really tempting every time I see their ads and there have been few occasions when I almost tried them. I guess some people could really make money in this thing, but I think they’re the minorities. Also, I think the major winner is the penny auction site itself and most of us are losers for even trying. Maybe I’m being too critical about it, but that’s probably how it really is.


Rw March 13, 2015 at 10:13 am

It is like you say, you must spend alot of time, money and effort. I did try one of these penny auction sites a couple years ago and was so frustrated and disappointed because there were people who (I think) know the system well (or its rigged by the co.?). Either way they have the advantage. I spent a whole afternoon, about $100 and ended up with not one item. It was very disappointing and a waste of time to me.


lucylu November 7, 2012 at 1:58 am

Thanks for the review. I make it a point to find out about a site before I get in to it and this was very helpful.


unique January 18, 2013 at 12:28 am

I used deal dash after i received an email promo for “free bids” I got 200 free bids and began bidding on a $50 gift card. After countless hours of bidding using the “bid buddy” automatic bid assistant the price for the item got to $35 for a $50 gift card! How is that a deal? The same 4 users kept bidding and bidding and I had already exhausted my 200 bids on this one item. I can only assume that these “users” had invested a similar number of bid and @ .60 cents a bid that would mean you would be paying $120 if you lost the auction. Who would risk losing that much for a cheap gift card. I think that they may use fake users to endlessly bid on items to make it impossible to win. dont use deal dash


Anthony September 1, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Contact me: Re: Deal Dash. I’d like to know more about your experience.


lewis June 15, 2013 at 9:13 pm

deal dash is rigged by an autobot program there are no other bidders


Missy September 15, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Please tell me how you know this, because I’ve always believed this to be true but your the first person to say so. Thank you


Josh B August 5, 2013 at 4:28 am

Having a look at the website I have to say that it reads a scam or something extremely dubious. I never really trusted auction sites because you never seem you can win for popular items. But then again that’s pretty much the whole point of having an auction in the first place. But you can find nice things that people give away that are too ignorant to know what they sold was a priceless heirloom. Something you could sell for a high price but because they didn’t know or didn’t care. You can benefit from that. However, Kirio does make a good point so I might consider penny auctions in the future.


mikah September 2, 2013 at 8:27 pm

I’ve found that DealDash uses fake usernames, even hysterically inconspicuous, to keep the bids going. Here are a few:

grandmabell (who likes to bid on expensive TVs and speaker systems)

This drives up the bid volume, at no expense to DealDash, because the bidders are their automated users, NOT paying the $0.60/bid. How can you compete with that?

In short, this is a fraud.


Lanny April 7, 2014 at 2:00 pm

I have watched 100.00 walmart gift cards go for 185.00 on deal dash. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out something is amiss with this site


christian October 30, 2014 at 1:31 am

I think that if indeed they use false user names to drive up bid prices then they should be brought up on criminal charges, the thought makes me sick.


Mr CT December 31, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Just about to sign up and found this site. Thanks for the feed back. Not joining the site.


Nat b. January 25, 2015 at 4:15 am

I was a push away from buying bids with my PayPal acct! lol. but I just kept going back trying to learn more about the site and I started to view older items sold and noticed that a $800 gift card sold for $1068.00!!!! DID I MISS SOMETHING??? HOW IS THAT A DEAL? WTF


Caryn April 1, 2015 at 10:07 am

The only way you “win” on these penny auction sites is to be a newbie. They practically GIVE you the cheap $10 giftcard and a few other nothing prizes. It’s just enough to get you hooked. Then you think, “wow, this is so easy”. That’s when they have you. You pour endless hours and money into the site with nothing to show for it. If it’s something you really want, just save yourself the aggravation and go buy it.


dealdashwinner July 24, 2015 at 2:30 am

you can definitely take advantage of dealdash. for one the bids are always on sale. they average about 15 cents each. now here’s how you win. you need to see what type of auction you are. some you pay the final auction price, some you pay half, and some you don’t pay for. i realize this makes no sense but if you go on the site you will understand. now say a month from now you have a birthday party to go to. you’re going to give 100 toys are us gift card as a present. you can go on deal dash and try to win one. you have to figure what your total cost is per bid and what final cost is. so if you buy bids for 15 cents every hundred would cost you 15.00. so 500 costs 90.00. if its a free auction you could bid all those and still save 10 bucks. not great i know. but there is a chance you could get it for almost nothing. why it works is this, if you lose the auction and purchase the card for 10000, which you were going to do anyway, you get all the bids you used back for free.if you bid on nothing but gift cards you were going to use anyway as long as you win one time for less you can easily come out ahead or even. win 2 or 3 and it’s all worth it. if you want advice or me to explain more respond and we can figure it out how to get in touch.


Missy September 15, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Are you that company that is paid to put positive stuff on these sites. I’ve run into you guys before on other information sites. You don’t say the whole truth but you keep pushing the lie and tying to bring people back to the site with renewed hope.
If you have to put any money down ( your own money). Then it’s just not a free anything.


Kevin November 6, 2015 at 7:31 pm

“so if you buy bids for 15 cents every hundred would
cost you 15.00. so 500 costs 90.00. if its a free auction
you could bid all those and still save 10 bucks. ”

And you could also spend all of those bids and still not win the gift card… So now you’ve spent $90 and have zero to show for it other than the shame of knowing you’ve been ripped off? I caught the TV add and in fine print the lady that won a $300/$400 Kitchenaid for something like $30 and bid 761 times. That means she paid >$450 in bids + $30something at the end… wow, what a deal…? But hey there’s free shipping! I should hope so. Let not forget that if SHE bid 761 times that means there had to be AT LEAST 760 OTHER BIDS. Which means this website just got paid ~$1000 for a 3 or 4 hundred dollar mixer. That number would also mean that the lady who won made every other bid without fail. What’s much more likely is she made something more like every 4th or 5th bid meaning the site would have made ~$2000 profit on the thing even if they paid full retail…

If that doesn’t scream scam I don’t know what would.


Amy November 9, 2015 at 2:44 am

Wow, thank you all for the great information. I keep seeing the commercial for and was thinking of giving it a try but something just didn’t seem right with me. So I decided to just type in the search engine dealdash and this site came up. I belive what you all had to say and I will NOT be buying bids. If I want or need something I will wait for it to go on sale or if need be will just pay retail price for it. Seems like I will be making out a whole lot better then paying $100.00 + extra for an item. Thank you for posting and sharing your experience or advice on this. It was much appreciated.


pike November 16, 2015 at 2:58 am

Hope every employee at deal dash , dies a slow and painful death, steal from good honest people, f&#king scum rat sacks. Hhhmm luckily I didn’t fall into this little trap , was stoked seeing all the commercials about it and then I happened to come across this tidbit of info, and like everything else in the world, to good to be fucking true. I might just have to call Anybody else who agrees needs to call as well, we want results!!! Sincerely : honest-pike


Leave a Comment