Does the iGrow Really Work?

Does iGrow work?The iGrow is a Space Age looking device that is supposed to help you regrow your hair and stop hair loss. You might think this is the latest release from Apple, but it’s not. So how well does it actually work at returning order to your natural hair growth.

When you’re losing your hair you’ll look for anything that works. There are many different treatment options, and each company has a different approach as to how to get your hair loss to stop and even better to get it growing again. Some use creams, lotions, and serums. Others use pills to supply the body with the nutrients it needs to grow hair again. A relatively new approach is using laser combs. The iGrow is trying to take the laser comb technology and make it easier to use.

The Claim
They say you can get thicker, fuller hair in a matter of weeks using the iGrow. That’s a pretty bold claim since most hair growth products not being able to have an effect that soon. They say you’ll be able to keep your current hair, and that it doesn’t matter if your genetics are working against you. They also say that it works for both men and women.

They also say that there are no side effects to using this, that it’s designed to be safe for home use, and that it’s totally automated so you simply put it on and it does the rest. They claim that the hands-free nature of the device makes it something that you can travel with and use wherever you are.

The Hype
Hair loss is already a hyped up industry, and when you take into consideration that this is a laser helmet you’re going to turn some heads with it. The look of it alone hypes it up because let’s face it, it basically looks ridiculous. But you can’t hold that against it

The Cost
The iGrow is $700 at Amazon, and they say that this is affordable when you start adding up all of the monthly costs you’ll be avoiding if you used other treatments. But let’s face it, that’s a pretty good chunk of cash to put down on something that doesn’t really have enough peer feedback to make you feel at ease that it will work.

The Commitment
You’ll have to commit to using this on a regular basis if you want to see the best results. It’s not as if you can wear this to work, so it’s something you’ll have to use in your free time. Also, if you don’t want anyone to know that you’re doing something about your hair loss, you’ll have to find a private time to use it.

If you look further into what they’re saying, you’ll see that they want you to use this for 12 weeks in order to make a determination on whether or not it works. Their return policy gives you six months to evaluate it, but the catch is that they charge you a restocking fee on it. This means that it’s not a risk-free trial. When you look at it from their point of view, it’s not as if they can resell your iGrow helmet once you return it, so they’re likely covering their production costs this way.

You’d basically be a guinea pig for this product, since there isn’t enough third party feedback on whether this works or not. It might be a better offer if they let you break up the payments into installments, or offer a trial period where you pay a smaller up front cost of around $100 and then pay the balance if you like it after 60 days. But the way they have this set up puts all of the risk on you, even with their guarantee in place. Anytime we see that we think that the company isn’t very confident in their product. We like it better when there is some risk placed on the business so they have a vested interest in bringing a working product to market.

Final iGrow Review

The iGrow is getting our Risky Try rating based mostly on their 6 month money back guarantee, and the fine print of how it works. While it’s unclear whether or not this works for the majority of those that try it, it’s something that you can try out for an extended period of time. The company is pretty confident that after using it as directed for 6 months you won’t be sending it back. With this price point you’re not going to forget to return it if you’re not happy with it.

The only thing that can trip you up here is if you get it and don’t use it as much as you’re supposed to. If after 6 months you don’t like it and end up returning it, the restocking fee will be about $120, so worst case scenario you’re going to pay $20 a month to try it out and see what you think. When you look at it this way, and compare it to the cost of trying out other products, it doesn’t sound like too big a risk. Plus if it works you’ve got a one-off payment for a hair growth solution that you can use daily with nothing more to pay.

Our Recommendation
The large upfront cost on this is hard to swallow, especially considering all of the non-laser options that are less expensive and get good reviews. But if you can swing it and you want to try it out this seems like a viable option.

What do you think? Does iGrow work or not?

Related posts:

{ 34 comments… read them below or add one }

Talen March 5, 2013 at 11:21 am

The restocking fee at $120 for a product that costs $700 is not bad. It’s not great, but it’s not terrible either. But then you’ve got to wonder, if you could make a garbage product for $30 and rent it out for six months for $120, could you make money? The answer is a definitive yes. The 6 month money back guarantee is nothing to brag about because of the high restocking fee. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t tempted, but the restocking fee makes me cringe just a bit.


Dragonfly757 September 14, 2013 at 1:36 am

Finally, a website that tells the pros and cons! I’ve spent an hr researching this helmet for hair growth and most of them are a waste of time with people just being annoying. Thanks for your input. I may try it.


Vincent January 23, 2014 at 8:25 am

I am using it right now but too early to tell. I am following the schedule of sessions diligently and have the thinner hair on top with small but noticeable hair follicles and am not on any drugs. Just regular male pattern hair thinning. So I feel I am the perfect candidate who they say this will work for. I feel six months is enough time to see if this is snake oil fake and a scam or the real deal. Believe me, I will tell you which this is. I am on my second week of usage. I look forward to letting everyone know how I make out and can make an honest judgement.
Yours truly, Vincent


James May 24, 2014 at 12:19 am

Hey Vincent,

Since it’s been over 4 months since you posted, I was wondering if you could give an update on whether you’ve seen improvement from using the iGrow? Any information would be great, thank you and hope it’s working out!



Jerry August 9, 2014 at 2:03 am

I was wondering if you had any luck with your iGrow. Thanks!


Musa November 5, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Vincent, how have your results been using igrow since January? It’s been about 10 months. Hoping you can give feedback.


Ali November 23, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Hey, Vincent

Could you tell us what is your hair situation?
We are so excited to buy this helmet.



Wala February 11, 2015 at 7:33 pm

VINCENT!!!!! RIP. He died testing iGrow for us all.


missy August 8, 2015 at 12:01 pm

I have been using igrow for3 mo ths and noticed nothing different. No change in hairfall, thinning, or anything. Im thinking about returning it today.


bandari October 23, 2015 at 1:54 pm

hi vincent

this is regarding your review about using igrow laser, i have seen your views last year and u promised to share its results after 6 months whether it really makes regrowth of hair or not, so i will be kind and very educative if you share the results now for everyone out there with hairfall and bald problems

your friend


Scott November 13, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Hi Vincent,

So, its 18 months later since your original post about iGrow. What was your verdict on the helmet?
Thanks, Scott


Accutained August 11, 2014 at 9:28 pm

I just started with the igrow. I have hair loss due to taking accutane(isotretinoin). It started after taking it and has gotten progressively worse. After being off for two years I continue to loose a lot of hair. I am near balding on top my head with a receded hairline. Hair loss doesn’t run in my family until late 40’s and early 50’s. Whether my hair loss is just drug induced, or maybe accutane just sped up my genetic hair loss I was destined to have at a much later time, I will bookmark this site and try to update you guys if I have any results at a later time.


Ali November 23, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Since it has been few months, i was wondering if you had any improvement with your hair loss.


Jay December 8, 2014 at 4:43 am

Bought the Igrow a year ago but learned alot about it after buying it. The product might be effective preventing hair loss but definitely alot better products out there. Igrow uses a mix of laser and led. LED does nothing for you, its a scam them make to more money. What helps is the laser or diode. The more diodes the better for hair. Hope you guys wont make the same mistake I did.


Laura January 23, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Can you tell me what laser products are better than the Igrow please


john mactavish May 27, 2015 at 6:14 am

mix of laser and LED? what helps is the laser, not the diode? FYI LED stands for laser emitting diode…its a laser


Randy June 10, 2015 at 6:50 pm

LED stands for “light-emitting diode,” not “laser-emitting diode.”


Leonard Stillman December 26, 2014 at 4:17 pm

I am Leonard Stillman, Director of Professional Services at Lexington International, LLC, manufacturers of the HairMax LaserComb. This post is NOT for commercial purposes, but is to notify your readers of 2 landmark clinical papers that were published in April 2014, both authored by leaders in the treatment of hair disorders.

The first one appeared in the peer-review medical journal, The American Journal of Clinical Dermatology in April 2014. The article provides complete information on 4 studies with 225 subjects, which conclusively proved the efficacy and safety of the HairMax LaserComb in treating male and female pattern hair loss.

This article is entitled:
Efficacy and Safety of a Low-level Laser Device in the Treatment of Male and Female Pattern Hair Loss: A Multicenter, Randomized, Sham Device-controlled, Double-blind Study
(Am J Clin Dermatol. 2014 Apr;15(2):115-27)

These were the results found in this study: “In four randomized, double-blind, sham-controlled trials of male and female pattern hair loss, we detected a statistically significant increase in terminal hair density after 26 weeks of lasercomb treatment compared with sham treatment.”

Below is a link to the complete article:

The second one appeared in the peer-review medical journal, The International Journal of Trichology in August 2014. The article provides photographic evidence of the efficacy of the HairMax LaserComb used on subjects treated for at least 9 months for drugs and were either no longer responding or were intolerant of these treatments. The HairMax LaserComb was added to treatments with either with minoxidil and/or finasteride regimens, or used in place of these treatment. Almost 90% of patients treated with drugs and the HairMax LaserComb had significant results, and 100% of those patients treated with the device in place of the drugs, showed significant results.

This article is entitled:
Use of Low-Level Laser Therapy as Monotherapy or Concomitant Therapy for Male and Female Androgenetic Alopecia
(Int J Trichology. 2014 Apr;6(2):45-9)

Below is a link to this study:;year=2014;volume=6;issue=2;spage=45;epage=49;aulast=Munck

These 2 articles provide conclusive proof of the efficacy and safety of the HairMax LaserComb for the treatment of certain classes of hereditary hair loss in both men and women.

We invite your readers to visit our web site,, to see if the HairMax LaserComb is right for them.


Laura January 23, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Can you tell me what laser products are better than the Igrow please


Leonard Stillman January 29, 2015 at 4:52 pm

I am Leonard Stillman, Director of Professional Services at Lexington International, LLC. This post is not for commercial purposes, but is to reply to Laura in her post of January 23, 2015, to explain to her why we believe the HairMax is the best laser phototherapy device on the market for treating hair loss:

1) There have been no head to head studies (no pun intended) comparing the HairMax LaserComb to any other devices. However, we believe that the HairMax is a better designed device, in that it has a patented hair parting teeth mechanism built into the device. Since hair blocks light from reaching the scalp, we believe that the HairMax in parting the hair as it is used, delivers optimal energy, unlike ‘top of the hair’ devices such as the helmets and hoods.

2) There have been 6 double-blind clinical studies comparing the HairMax LaserComb to a sham device that have all consistently proven the efficacy and and safety of the device. Further, there have been 6 FDA 510(k) Clearances granted for the HairMax LaserComb. No other device on the market can provide anywhere the number of studies that have proven its efficacy, nor as many FDA reviews., Finally, as listed on this post, no other device has had as many papers published on the results of the clinical trials of their devices in peer review journals, as has the HairMax Laser Comb.

3) There are 3 models available that start at $295.00, so that they fit every ones” pocket book, unlike the ‘top of the hair’ devices which cost considerably more. Each has been proven to work.

In conclusion, the HairMax LaserComb which weights about 1/3 the weight of a hair dryer, is lightweight, easy, and convenient to use, just 3 times a week for 8 – 15 minutes depending on the model. This combined with all the reasons to use the HairMax listed above, makes it undoubtedly the best laser phototherapy device on the market to use.


ned daly January 31, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Ive been using it for roughly 6 months now! I havent noticed much improvement, however my hair was very thin, so i reckon alot of my hair follices were dead and unable to grow! I did notice some minor light hairs growing so i think there is something there working! It is most likely a good product to have if you are in the early stages of mpb


rain_O February 6, 2015 at 8:44 am

There was lady on The Drs.. today that has been using it for 18 months and her hair is all back in. Feb. 5th The Drs.. Show, you can see it there.
She said she noticed little hair growths after about a month.


Desi Dinero February 6, 2015 at 1:46 am

I used the laser hair machine under the guidance of a trichologist for 1 yr, 3 times a week for 30 minutes each time. I paid $1,500.00 for that one year.
I have thinning hair and no balding pattern.

There was no NEW hair growth, no thickening of my hair. Nothing at all. As a matter of fact, I had hair LOSS.
IGROW uses the same technology.

Save your money folks.


rain_O February 6, 2015 at 8:59 am
Andrea April 5, 2015 at 6:07 pm

I’m a horrible candidate for any hair re-growth system because I am a 51 year old female who has had moderate hair loss since the age of 18.

I have been using the iGrow for 4 weeks. After the first use, I had no hair loss in the shower. Usually I get quite a few strands stuck to my fingers. And that promising effect has continued for the entire 4 weeks I’ve been using it.

After two weeks I could tell that something good was happening. The new growth on my existing hair was coming out thicker and stronger. And now after 4 weeks I can see new hairs sprouting.

I’m truly shocked that this thing is working. When I received it, I was bummed to see that it is made like a cheap plastic toy. But now I see that I am paying for the technology, not the quality of the plastic. It’s SUPER easy to use right out of the box.

If you have any questions for me about the product, do not hesitate to ask. I will update my experience in 2 weeks which will be my 6 week mark.


Leslie June 10, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Update? Wondering how your hair is doing in early June!


Ramz July 1, 2015 at 3:59 pm

how often you are using it ? i bought the same an year ago. using it till date but nothing happened so far.


Lasanthi Benedict May 11, 2015 at 5:41 am

I have been using the IGrow helmet for the last two years and it is worked wonders for me. I was experiencing a LOT of hair loss. I had lost just about all my self esteem and everything else.

I still have a long way to go, but Igrow has changed my mind.. Literally. It has given me my life back and it has made my self esteem soar.

Give it a try. I tell everyone about it.


Kathy Murrell August 29, 2015 at 8:58 pm

I just ordered this on QVC…they have 5 payments My husband has thinning hair on top and I’m hoping this will help..They also have a 6 month return policy with no restocking charge….if your wanting to try it this is the best way. Try it for at least the 4 months that they say is the time it takes to see if it will work. If not, return it and you’ll be out nothing.


melissa August 31, 2015 at 3:58 am

I used the igrow for 4 months and did not see any results. Not even in my amount of hair loss…I just returned it yesterday., it was a waste of money and time.


Robert Emory September 2, 2015 at 3:18 pm

The “Lost in Space” Igrow space helmet doesn’t work at all, neither stopping hair loss nor growing new hair, from my $600 experiment with the device, religiously using the device every other day for 7 and one-half months, to the current date, 9/02/2015. Was it a total waste of money? Yes, but one has to weigh the cost of the helmet against other, more costly treatments. So, in that respect, it simply was a costly “crapshoot” that didn’t work.


Bold November 5, 2015 at 3:04 am

I am disappointed about what you guys are talking because I just started using it today.


ginger November 15, 2015 at 7:49 am

How is the outcome so far? Any results?


Ace November 16, 2015 at 7:06 pm

I bought the igrow 7 months ago. I was also skeptical but figured it was worth a shot since it was relatively easy to use and didn’t have any negative side effects I could find.

I took a picture each month to figure out if I should return it or not. After 2-3 months the thinner areas on top of my head did seem fuller. After 6 months I have seen a noticeable improvement and others agree after seeing the pictures. The 6 month one definitely has more hair and this is the only product I have been using.

I’m keeping mine for sure and will continue to use it. The growth on the top seems fuller than in the front. But at least the front hasn’t thinned out or receded even if its not getting thicker.


Leave a Comment