Does Xzilon Really Work?

Does Xzilon work?Xzilon is presented as a way to get your car looking and keeping it that way. It says that it works on a molecular level, and we’ve seen these sort of claims before for other car products, so does this one deliver?

It’s only natural to want your car to look its best and to protect the finish from dings and scratches. Many times dealerships will try to upsell you on coatings for the underbody and the paint job, and many car buyers will say no simply out of reflex. But what if what they’re offering actually makes sense, and works to extend the life of your car’s paint job, potentially saving you from costly repair jobs later on?

The Claim
The makers of Xzilon claim that their coating does just that, protecting your paint and making sure that it’s able to survive out there in the real world, a world full of runaway shopping carts, flying stones, and baking sun. It’s a wonder paint jobs stand a chance in the harsh environment they’re put into.

The Hype
Car fanatics are always on the lookout for products that will keep their cars looking in tip-top shape, but at the same time they have no patience for products or services that don’t work. So while the hype is built up about this protective coating, consumers are doing a good job of weighing in and keeping expectations in check.

The Cost
The cost of Xzilon coating applied by a dealership will vary by dealer, but we’ve seen quotes around the $700 mark. The at-home version can be had for less than $100 and comes in a kit with everything you need in order to apply it. The costs might seem high, but the rationale is if it saves you from just one extra paint job, or one touch up done by the body shop, you’ll have made your money back. Not to mention all of the time you get to drive around with your car looking showroom ready.

The Commitment
All you really need to do is commit to paying extra to have this applied to your car, if you go that route. You can also by the at-home DIY version and in that case you’ll need to follow the directions to apply it yourself. This should only need to be one once though, and after that you can simply enjoy the benefits.

The feedback for Xzilon is mixed, but mixed in a way that paints a pretty clear picture as to its strengths and weaknesses. If you go the professional route and have it applied by an authorized dealership, you’ll likely be very happy, as evidence suggests that it works quite well this way. If you buy it and apply it on your own you might be a little less than happy, with several users saying that it didn’t live up to its claims and was a waste of time.

Whenever we see a split like this we try to determine what went wrong. In this case there are plenty of possibilities. Perhaps they’re able to use a stronger formular when they apply it at the dealership. Of course they’re likely using more sophisticated means of applying it so that they don’t miss any spots, and that it gets an even coat all the way around. Once you reduce human error as much as possible you cut out a lot of the negative feedback. It may be a better idea for them to cut their consumer product line and simply stick to what is working consistently. They might miss out on some smaller sales, but the overall reputation of the brand would improve over time.

Final Xzilon Review

It seems like something is getting lost in translation when they try to make this available for at-home use. Xzilon applied at the shop seems to work well, and while it may be the more expensive way to go, in this case it’s worth the extra expense. The consumer version just doesn’t measure up, and if you’re really concerned about your car’s appearance it would be in your best interest to make sure that it is covered properly.

Our Recommendation
If you do go with this, be sure to get it done professionally. It’s the surest way to know that you’ll get the real deal, since only authorized dealers can offer it. It also saves you the time and hassle of doing it yourself, and from all reports we’ve seen is worth paying more for. You might also find that you have luck with other at-home protective coatings, but it’s always nice to have things done for you by the pros so you know it was done right and you can put it behind you.

What do you think? Does Xzilon work or not?

"Does Xzilon Really Work?", 5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings.

Related posts:

{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }

Joy Eastwood May 15, 2013 at 2:47 am

Xzilon does not offer a AT HOME VERSION. Xzilon offers its warrantied item to Auto, RV and Motorcycle dealerships only. It is applied by the trained persons at the dealership and is a warrantied item.
The picture you show is a wash and wax soap that is available for maintaining the Xzilon Molecular coating that applied at the dealer, NOT the same items.

If you would like any additional information on Xzilon please contact the corporate office at 800-553-6866.

Thank you


Ken Marks October 18, 2013 at 3:12 am

I had my new car with Xzlion for a month. The show roon shine was not as crisp for long. Water spots from the garden hose. I put in a claim to have it re-applied. I* am waiting now to see how the new aplication will do. Iwas told that I still have to wipe down the car after rinsing it down. For this money I paid, it should wipe it self down. Not completly satisfied!


drg April 18, 2014 at 3:42 pm

I spoke to a manager at my local body shop about the benefits of Xzilon+, since I am planning to buy a new car, and am aware that the dealer is pushing it. He strongly recommended that I pass on it. According to him, it is just a standard wax that is applied to the car. What you are actually buying is not the wax itself but rather an insurance policy against possible paint damage to the car body. He said that he used to sell Xzilon. He said that if you are buying, not leasing, and if you are planning on keeping a car only about 5-6 years, it is absolutely not worth it. There are better waxes on the market, and today’s car bodies typically do not rust before 12-15 years.


Rick April 18, 2015 at 1:00 am

I’ve been a general manager of a Luxury Premium Dealership and I can tell you that trained staff means the dealerships lowest paid employees who are treated the worst. The cost which is around $15-25/car and to have a $8-10/hr employee applying it for 30-45 min (when you are buying the car they are already supposed to be cleaning it for pick up correctly which means you truly should only add on application time of this special product)….. it should not retail $500-800 even with the warranty. You will find the warranty to be the most challenging to collect should you have a problem. Professionally applied represents independent detail shops where the owner is one of the detailers… where they actually care and he will pay up for great detailers and normally use products he actually believes in. When a dealership cannot recondition the paint in house they always outsource to a “qualified professional detailer” Save you money… don’t buy from a dealership go to a detail shop or take the time to watch some videos on youtube about proper application of these type of products! These products do work but they should never be more than $200 professionally applied


Katherine duquette April 28, 2015 at 6:59 pm

I recently bought a new Subaru from the dealer and because my car sits on the street and the birds often have their way with it, the dealer recommended Xzilon. After 4 weeks when cleaning off bird poop I noticed some scaring. I called claim department and it has been a difficult process. I have to send a picture which is near impossible with the surface glare on the hood. So without a picture they will not open a claim. Also lots of water spots after rain. To look nice I have to hand dry car after every rain. Seems ridiculous. We will see how this plays out.


Tom May 24, 2015 at 4:16 am

I too bought a. Subaru, dark blue, and I have to say this stuff is no better than any high end wax. Water spots galore. I have to dry my car carefully or I will get spots all over – and they stick like glue. In addition, I have to use spray polish/cleaner, a microfiber cloth, and a heck of a lot of elbow grease almost every other day due to our frequent rains here in Houston to keep this car from becoming one big water spot. The car is only a few months old and already there are chips and small scratches in the paint. Summary: to call this a paint protectant is, in my opinion, gross misrepresentation bordering on fraud. Did I mention that everything sticks to the paint like glue?


Pat June 16, 2015 at 12:56 am

I am an auto detailer, Ive worked with several different companies for many different dealerships and I’ve been detailing cars for around ten years, for about 2 and a half years I was one of these supposed professionals who applies the Xzilon coat at the dealership. I can tell you first hand that most of the claims about this product are either greatly exaggerated or just flat out B.S. First off my “professional training” was nothing more than my manager showing me how we applied it at that shop, I’m not even going to say “showed me how it’s supposed to be applied” because floating between so many different dealerships that were all “certified” Xzilon sellers I saw about 5 different ways that this stuff was applied. And as a previous poster on this board already pointed out, we are the lowest paid employees at the dealership, do you really think most of gave a damn if we were applying this stuff properly or not? The same poster said we take about 30-45 minutes to do so… maybe if you were getting paid hourly to do so, I was getting paid by the car, or by the job, I don’t know how much this stuff actually cost the dealership, but they would pay us an extra hour to do the Xzilon process, which we would write up as the “Full Package Job” ( I say an extra hour because even though we were paid by the job, different employees still had different pay rates, so each job would pay the same amount of time, .9 of an hour to ready a sold unit, .75 to make ready or “PDI” a brand new car going onto the lot, 3 hours for a full detail, then your hours would be added up and multiplied y your hourlyrate) Gettibg paid in this way it us in your best interest ti do as many jobs as fast as you can. I routinely took about 20-30 minutes to do the entire procces, which includes spraying a scotch-guard like chemical on all the fabrics in the car, and wiping a leather conditioner on all vinyl parts. I personally always did the job quickly but properly, but many times saw other employees half-assing this process, sometimes to the point of not even applying the paint sealant! So the claims that this product is only applied by professionals I would pretty much say is total B.S. Did we know how to do it better than an average nobody, based on the length of your experience id say yes in most cases atleast, but as I just said I’ve seen new cars delivered with huge spots missed and sometimes not even having the paint sealant applied at all. And whoever said that this stuff is a wax has been misinformed, it is not, it is a pure liquid or solvent made up of several different chemicals. As far as how well it works, it doesn’t as far as I could tell. Most times this application product would only use about half the bottle or less of the chemical, so we would have tons of this stuff lying around in our shop and most of us would apply it to our own personal vehicles. I never saw it make any difference and every detailer I worked with who had also used it said the same thing. You will still get water spots, and you will still get dings and scrapes. I don’t think there’s any way to avoid dings and scrapes no matter what you put on your car. As far as water spots go, I think our cheap PDI wax did a better job than this Xzilon stuff, however wax only stays on the car so long and would need to be constantly re-applied for continued protection, however the only true way I know of to avoid water spotting is to dry your car by hand every time it gets wet. And a quick FYI, water spots can usually be buffed out of paint, and taken off of glass with steel wool (just make sure the glass is wet with either water or windex to avoid scratchng the glass), but sometimes bad waterspotting is completely permanent on paint or glass and nothing can be done about it. So in conclusion, my “professional” opinion as a detailer and certified Xzilon apllicater, don’t pay an extra dime for Xzilon to be applied to your car. And honestly if you can avoid buying a car directly from a dealership, you should always do so. I’ve seen a lot of dishonest and down-right F*ed-Up things done to customers at car dealerships, thats stuff I’ll have to save for another post, but just beware, car salesman all work on commission, almost always getting paid more in accordance to how much more you pay for the car, so it is almost always in their best interest to make you pay as much for a car as possible, while looking you in the eye and telling you they’re getting you the best deal possible! Don’t fall for it!


Sanj August 4, 2015 at 3:29 pm

I just bought a 2015 Nissan Altima from Future Nissan in Roseville, Ca. I had this product applied not 4 weeks ago. I have water spots and already a stain from a bird dropping which was cleaned off in less than a day. With a coat of wax that should not have left a stain. Either this product is completely useless or this dealership is shady and did not apply the treatment after all. Not happy at all


Robert August 17, 2015 at 11:47 pm

My wife and I purchased a 38′ 5th wheel trailer in Jan. of 2014. The business manager at Folsom Lake R.V. in Northern Ca. sold us the Xzilon Protectant treatment for the exterior, carpet and leather upholstery. We have no idea if any of the protectants were applied because we weren’t there to watch them. The jelcoat finish on the exterior of the trailer feels like there is nothing on it. Water spots, bird droppings and bugs take some effort to remove. Folsom Lake R.V. was supposed to do the xzilon treatment before we did our walk- thru so that they could deliver our trailer at the end of Jan. 2014. We found that they didn’t apply it. They said they would apply it by the time they delivered it to our house. The trailer felt like it had a slight wax coating on it. Did we get a wax job or a Xzilon job? Who knows? But after the few Spring showers we had that year, the exterior surface once again felt like nothing was on it. I brought our trailer in for warranty work in January of this year and asked them to reapply the exterior Xzilon protectant, which they agreed to do. When we picked our trailer up they swore it was applied, even though I said that it doesn’t feel like anything is on it. This past July I washed the dirt and dust off our trailer only to find that the water wasn’t sheathing off of it. I contacted Xzilon and told them about our situation. The gal I spoke with told me that our area rep. David would call me. David said that he will come to our house to see if the Xzilon exterior coating was in fact applied or not. So far we have spoken to each other on August 5th, 7th and 17th. On the 7th he told me he would call me on the 10th because he said he was in Texan at the time. I gave him from the 10th to the14th to call me, in which he didn’t. In fact it was I who called him the following Monday, the 17th. He told me he was on the other line with another customer and that he would call me back. He didn’t !!. Their company talks about customer service on their website. It would be nice if they lived up to it. Will let everyone know what transpires in the coming weeks or months.


John October 1, 2015 at 3:46 pm

What happened in the end?


Nate September 10, 2015 at 4:14 pm

We had the Xzilon done when we bought our new 2011 Acura MDX in October of 2011. We also had a similar coating (not Xzilon) put on our new 2012 Tundra which we bought in Jan of 2012. The Toyota coating was a joke and the “stealership” not only applied the coating, but also applied surface scratches in the paint on the ENTIRE 4 door truck. I had to clay bar, then polish with a random orbital polisher and Menzerna P85 to get rid of the surface scratches and then applied Duragloss Clear Coat Polish, but that’s another story. I can tell you that the Xzilon coating did actually do something to protect the shine and protect the paint from bird droppings, bug splatter, road tar and pine sap on the MDX. We had this vehicle for 4 years and probably 40-50% of the time, it sat outside under a pine tree, but still shined like the day we brought it home and had never been waxed, only hand washed and hand dried. There were no surface scratches or spider web scratches that could be seen. The dealership that applied the Xzilon, got good coverage on the entire vehicle except the roof, which in my opinion is where it needs it the most. After washing the vehicle, I could see a very distinct line where the coverage was missed, up until we traded it off. We now own a new Volvo XC90 and when the dealership offered the Xzilon, we didn’t hesitate to have it put on. As for protecting the paint on the MDX from scratches and dents, I would say it definitely helped, but keep in mind, this is not an invisible titanium coating. As for the water spots previous posters were talking about, you have to dry the vehicle after washing, and go around it for a while after you think you are done, just to get the hidden drops that tend to run down the vehicle. The spots that you get after washing and letting air dry, are from the contaminants in your water, not from the coating. If you want a spot free rinse, you have to use filtered water. As for the spots after a rain….come on…..those are from pollution and dust that has collected on the surface of the paint, then get absorbed by the rain, concentrated to a “spot” and then dried in its concentrated form. The Xzilon coating isn’t magical, but is definitely helpful in keeping your new ride looking good. Just my $0.02.


Tbears September 29, 2015 at 6:24 pm

9 months ago I purchased a new Subaru along with the xzilon protection. I wasn’t concerned so much with how it was going to protect the finish, i was more interested in minor dent and scratch repair. After about 4 month I noticed a small dent and paint chip just behind the door so I submitted a claim. I kept checking the website to see the progress of the claim and all it said was assigned. After about 3 weeks I called xzilon and they said there was some kind of mistake and it hadn’t been assigned. A day later I get an e-mail that the claim was denied because the dent isn’t repairable it will require body work. I thought I was paying for a warranty that repaired the dents. Apparently it has to be the right kind of dent and in a certain location. To anyone that is thinking of buying this product for the warranty read the fine print. The dealer is quick to say they will fix hail damage, door dings and other minor issue but never mention that dents in specific locations are not covered. I would not recommend this product.


Joy Eastwood November 2, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Reading through this board, I can note some valid points of concern, I can also note many discrepencies.

Please note that the warranty that is provided at the dealer is very clear on what is and what is not covered. NO matter what the finance person states, all customers should have that to reference.

Also the picture on this web site is of the Xzilon car wash soap, not of the protectant that Is applied on the exterior and Interior of the cars. Please don’t let that fool you. Xzilon has many different products we offer in the industry. We have been manufacturing products for the auto industry since 1930.

When Xzilon is applied at the dealer – It works great.
When Xzilon is applied correctly – It works great
When a customer understands the warranty – It is beneficial for all parties, there is a signature on the warranty that states they do understand it. However many do not have the time to read all the paperwork given, but at least go home and read what you purchased.

Xzilon does have a claims process, we do require pictures. If Pictures are not submitted the claim wont move forward. The pictures are what helps us determine and communicate with our repair techs what the damage is.


Gordon Harris November 14, 2015 at 11:24 am

We had the product put on our new 2015 Volvo S80 by the dealer. I cannot just wash this car at the wand wash car wash place at home? After it dries all of the dirt is still covering the entire car? I complained to the car wash, they say they are not doing anything different. My Ford Escape comes out spotless. I have to get out a pail of warm water and completely hand wash the Volvo to remove the film of scum left after every wash job. Not too happy. In the sun the Volvo still shows swirls ,tiny scratches and a foggy film on the side windows that I cannot get off? I feel like I have a 70k new wrecked car.


M. Zimon November 25, 2015 at 12:12 am

If you stand in the shower and don’t wash yourself, you will be covered in scum too. A wash mitt with a good car wash doap. Not dish soap. If you stand naked in the rain, you will not come clean. You might have less heavy dirt on you. But you will not be clean. You spent 50 grand on a Volvo. Wash it. No wax, polymer, or high end finish like xzylon will prevent scratches.


Leave a Comment